Bab al-Asbat

Bab al-Asbat is the only gate that has been open in the eastern part of the Jerusalem Wall from the time of its construction until today. The Lions' Gate is also known as Bab Sitna Mariam (Mother Mary Gate), Bab Al-Qiddis Stephan (St. Stephen’s Gate), and Bab l-Usud (Lions Gate). Its name of Bab al-Asbat is indicative of the principles of tolerance and absence of bigotry on the part of Muslims. One of the most famous names for this Gate is Bab l-Usud (Lions Gate), due to the statues of four lions: two north and two south of the gate’s lintel. These lions constituted the emblem of the Mamluk Sultan Baibars (658-676 Hijri / 1260-1277 AD).

Several unfounded myths revolved around the lions of Bab Al-Asbat. Bab Al-Asbat was constructed based on the orders of Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent in 945 Hijri / 1539 AD. The entrance of the Lions Gate is topped by a straight lintel. The entrance is crowned by a large, pointed arch, surrounded by the protruding engraving of four lions, two on each side and facing forward.