Al-Qubbah Al-Nahweya

Al-Qubbah Al-Nahweya forms the southwestern corner of the compound of the Holy Dome of the Rock, and adjacent to the southwestern colonnades.

The Dome was established in the year 604 Hijri / 1207 AD by al-Malik al-Muatham Issa Ibn al-Malik al-Adil Saladin’s brother. It was established as one of the Ayyubid schools dedicated to the teaching of language sciences. The Dome is square shaped, with an octagonal transmission area, which supports a short drum with the Dome above it.