Ethiopian Monastery

Also known as Deir al-Sultan (al-Sultan Monastery). It forms an essential part of the rooftop of the Church of the Holy Sepulcher, above the Holy Cross Crypt (St. Helena’s Church). It is located to the south of St. Helena’s Well, which is the 9th station of Via Dolorosa.

There is a political dispute between the Coptic and Ethiopian sects on the ownership of this Monastery, which hinders the renovation of the site. This dispute extends to include the dispute over the Four Knights Church and the Angel Church.